The Educator's Room National Conference

Update: A Great Way to Recharge – The Educator’s Room National Conference!!!

UPDATE: The conference date will be rescheduled for the Fall of 2015.

TER_FACEBOOKCOVER (1)

I’ve been teaching in the humanities at an independent school in Atlanta, Georgia for 15 years.

Specifically, I’ve been teaching biblical and religious studies since I graduated with my Master of Divinity degree from the Candler School of Theology at Emory University in 2000.

My daughter is about to “graduate” from a public elementary school in Douglas County, Georgia. People often ask me, “Why doesn’t your daughter attend the school where you teach?” To that I answer,

“I believe in public education.”

In spite of budget cuts and high-stakes testing in American public school systems, I believe all children can get a quality education, no matter where they attend school. But it takes considerable work and commitment on the part of parents as well as teachers and administrators. We all have to work together to ensure children of all backgrounds can get the quality education they deserve.

So like many of us, I have had to work to advocate as a parent. But I’ve also had to reflect on the effectiveness of my own practice as a teacher.

I try to evaluate myself regularly, both formally and informally. And frequently, I feel I come up short.

Which is why I’m excited about “The Educator’s Room National Conference,” being held in Atlanta, Georgia on Friday, July 17, 2015 at the AMA Executive Center located at 1065 Peachtree St NE, Atlanta, GA 30309.

UPDATE: The date of the conference will be rescheduled for the Fall of 2015.

As stated on the conference page of The Educator’s Room, “The Conference Team picked a line up of dynamic speakers who embody the phrase, ‘Educators as the Experts’.” And who better to learn from than classroom teachers who’ve been in the trenches, who’ve experienced the ups and downs in their teaching practice, and who’ve discovered ways to help teachers become better teachers, so that children under their care can receive instruction that best meets their needs? Here is what your registration will include:

  • Access to numerous workshops centered around teaching and learning
  • Complimentary subscriptions to digital resources, such as Flocabulary
  • One keynote speaker and panelist of teacher leaders
  • Opportunities to connect and network with hundreds of teachers

The day promises to be filled with lots of opportunities to learn and network with other educators. One of the workshops to which I’m looking forward is “Bridging the Racial Divide vs. Crossing Cultural Lines: Challenging the Values of Other People’s Children,” by high school English teacher Dr. Jacqueline Burnett-Brown from the Cobb County School District (Georgia). This session is particularly timely given the state of race relations in our country, and I am certain I will learn effective strategies I can share with my colleagues and use in the classroom.

Click HERE for the entire schedule and workshop offerings.

The day is sure to be informative and energizing. And with the conference scheduled just a few weeks before school begins, attendees will have time to plan curriculum using the strategies learned and practiced at the conference.

If you are an educator who seeks to make a difference in the lives of their students and schools, register NOW for The Educator’s Room National Conference.

Share your thoughts, insights, and questions...

