21st Century Teaching and Learning · Biblical Studies

The Good Samaritan – 21st Century Style

A few years ago, I assigned a project for my New Testament students entitled “The Parables Project.” The students were required to choose a parable from one of the Synoptic Gospels (Mark, Matthew, or Luke) from a list I provided. Once they chose the parable, they were required to reflect on why they chose the passage, then research commentaries about their parable to determine the meaning of the parable. Lastly, the student was required to present an interpretation of the passage in a creative form, given the research they completed. They could present in the form of video, audio, painting, photography, or any other form they felt comfortable with.

My rationale for this project was getting the students into higher-order thinking. I wanted my students to make the parables their own; in other words, I wanted them to find some relevance to these ancient texts (particularly for students who were not Christian).

One student chose the Parable of the Good Samaritan (Luke 10:30-37) because, as she stated in her reflection, “The parable’s message of merciful kindness is one of my strongest personal beliefs.” She created a video demonstrating compassion, with the main characters being the mascots of our school (Wildcats) and our rival school (Lions). It’s a great rendition, which I continue to play for my students to this day. A fine way to show how compassion is shown in the 21st century.

Enjoy…

One thought on “The Good Samaritan – 21st Century Style

  1. What a cool video and project idea! I was wondering if you have the assignment page (and a rubric if you have one) for the project. I teach New Testament, and I want to do a project like this. Thanks!

    Like

Share your thoughts, insights, and questions...

